Tech

How to Change Your Location Settings on Google Chrome to Adjust or Disable Location-Tracking

How to change your location settings on Google Chrome to adjust or disable location-tracking

You might be concerned about privacy when it comes to your devices and sharing your location.

However, when it comes to searching for a business or restaurant when you need it most, location-sharing can be a feature to enable Google Chrome.

Fortunately, in Chrome, you can manually customize your location sharing options, including the option to manually approve or deny every time a website or app wants to access your location. 

Here’s how to customize your location settings in Chrome on desktop or in the Chrome app.

How to change your location settings on Google Chrome on your computer

  1. Open Google Chrome on your Mac or PC.
  2. Click the three dots in the top-right corner of your screen and then select “Settings” from the dropdown menu.
  3. Click “Advanced” in the left-hand menu and then select “Privacy and security.” 
  4. Click on “Site Settings.” 
  5. Click “Location.”
  6. Click the toggle next to “Ask before accessing (recommended)” to switch to “Blocked,” which will block all websites from accessing your location. When “Ask before accessing” is enabled the toggle will turn blue; when “Blocked” is enabled the toggle will turn gray.

How to change your location settings on Google Chrome on your Android

  1. Open the Chrome app on your Android device.
  2. Tap the three dots in the top-right corner and select “Settings” from the menu. 
  3. Scroll and tap “Site settings” and then “Location.”
  4. Toggle Location to “Blocked” or “Ask before allowing sites to know your location.”

How to change your location settings on Google Chrome on your iPhone or iPad

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Scroll down and tap “Chrome.”
  3. Tap “Location.”
  4. Select either “Never,” “Ask Next Time,” or “While Using the App.”