Tech

Adobe accidentally deleted people’s photos in latest Lightroom update

Adobe - Appy Pie

For the past two days, panic-stricken photographers have been posting across Twitter, Reddit, and the Photoshop feedback forums.

These photographers had downloaded Adobe’s latest update for Lightroom’s iOS app, and suddenly their photos and presets were gone. Adobe has now confirmed the issue, and it’s also said that the data is gone for good.

“This is literally the worst,” tweeted a customer, who said that he had lost not only 800 pictures but hundreds of dollars’ worth paid presets.

However, the company apologized and said. “We know how frustrating and upsetting this will be to people affected and we sincerely apologize.” Adobe representative Rikk Flohr acknowledged and apologized for the glitch in a forum post yesterday.

In a post he said, “A new version of Lightroom mobile (5.4.1) for iOS and iPadOS has now been released that prevents this issue from affecting additional customers. Installing version 5.4.1 will not restore missing photos or presets for customers affected by the problem introduced in 5.4.0.We know that some customers have photos and presets that are not recoverable. We sincerely apologize to any customers who have been affected by this issue.”

However, according to Flohr the photos can’t be recovered.  Starting from Lightroom desktop version 2.4 and Lightroom for mobile (iOS and Android) version 4.4, you can access and retrieve photos that you have deleted, within 60 days of deleting them. The photos that you delete are synced across the various platforms – Lightroom desktop, Lightroom for mobile (iOS and Android), and Lightroom on the web. Photos that are deleted and synced from Lightroom Classic can also be accessed in the same place. If your deleted photos are not yet synced to the cloud, you can still access them from the application in which you had deleted them. You can then choose to retrieve the photos or permanently delete them so that they cannot be viewed or restored later.

Adobe has posted a small update to the Adobe Help site. It’s largely the same as the statement shared above, but it re-clarifies that Lightroom on Android, the Desktop, and Lightroom Classic were not affected, and encourages users who lost data to try using iPhone or iPad backups to recover their work.

This isn’t the first time that any company’s mistakes have caused user photos to go missing. Canon took down its ‘image.canon’ platform earlier this month after a storage issue resulted in the loss of some photo and video files.

LEAVE A RESPONSE

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *